More noise being added by the BWDMA

About us logo

I was conducting a search on an association called the BWDMA to see how it had progressed since the weird phone call I received from the guy who found it a few years ago. I say weird because I’m unable to explain it. He put himself forward as the Founder of an established and well respected independent association and asked that I change from Segala Accreditation to Segala Certification. We did, but certainly not because he asked us to.

After a little digging on my part, I found that he seemed to own lots of Web sites which all connected to each other; either by collaboration, hosting provider, technology provider or endorser. All linking back to BWDMA to say how great it was.

Anyway, one of Google’s search results led me to a site now called About us. (http://www.aboutus.org/Bwdma.com) It’s still claiming the following

The BWDMA is a “broad church”, inclusive organisation, open to all companies and individuals that have an interest in the new media sector. BWDMA is influence-driven rather than membership-driven.

The Association seeks to improve e-business standards through sharing knowledge, understanding and proliferation of best practice. To further its aims and objectives, the association actively solicits constructive relationships with industry, government, academia and other such bodies, as may have common goals or purpose.

The Association seeks to assist all industries with the adoption and application of Internet and related technologies to encourage development in the digital economy. The BWDMA endeavours to provide a gateway for businesses to purchase with confidence from reputable suppliers through the free procurement service Web Project Guide.

When you click on the ‘Go direct to the Website’ link, you’re taken to a weird looking portal where you can buy houses and find Russian brides.

Screen shot of the BWDMA Portal

When you click on the AboutUS logo to take you back to the homepage AboutUs (http://www.aboutus.org/AboutUs.org) and then select About AboutUs in the footer, you get the following

AboutUS is a wiki whose goal is to create a free and valuable Internet resource containing information both about websites and other community created topics/information. The site was pre-populated with information about many different websites and thousands of updates are now being made by people each day.

The vision of AboutUs hinges on the power of collaboration and the unique capacity of wiki technology to capture the coming together of communities.

Confused? Yeah, so was I.

So, what is BWDMA these days? Is it a Portal to help you find your next Russian bride, a Web site collecting information and displaying it in a different format, thereby adding to the noise that’s out there already, or, is it an Independent Association representing the interests of Industry? Is it trying to be all of the above?

I notice that Nomensa still talks about BWDMA on its Web site, so perhaps they can tell me more.

For a company/association who specialises in helping you to find more information about companies and associations, it doesn’t make it easy for you to find out more information about them!

Please let me know if you know what’s going on with this association.


Comments  Join the discussion


  1. flag
    4Avatars v0.3.1 v0.3.1  Michele said...

    Aboutus.org is run by Jay Westerdal of NameIntelligence who also runs domaintools.com (formerly whois.sc). It’s an automated wiki that pulls in data on domains/sites, but you can edit the content. You can see the new entry for this domain at: http://www.aboutus.org/Paulfwalsh.com

    The "odd" portal you were taken to is just a parking page powered by Oversee.net. That it’s visible and a site isn’t would suggest that the original site is offline :)

    Regards

    Michele


  2. flag
    4Avatars v0.3.1 v0.3.1  Alastair Campbell said...

    Hi Paul,

    You’ll notice that the article on our site is almost 5 years old. This was from a time when we had a relationship with theĀ  BWDMA (British Web Design and Marketing Association). We haven’t had a relationship for a couple of years, and I’m afraid we cannot provide any further clarification on their current status.


  3. flag
    Paul Walsh  Paul Walsh said...

    @Alastair - thanks for that. Sorry for taking so long to respond, it slipped through :)

    Thanks for the digging @Michele.


  4. flag
    4Avatars v0.3.1 v0.3.1  Michele said...

    @Paul - No digging required :) You’re talking domain related stuff, so I have the info to hand


  5. flag
    Paul Walsh  Paul Walsh said...

    @Michele - Jaysus, here’s an exercise for you - go through all the sites that are connected to the main BWDMA site and owned or at least, connected to its founder ;) You’ll weave yourself into a Web.


  6. flag
    4Avatars v0.3.1 v0.3.1  Michele said...

    Paul - Em. What’s my motivation? :)


  7. flag
    Paul Walsh  Paul Walsh said...

    I’ll deliver a curry to your front door, personally lol.


  8. flag
    4Avatars v0.3.1 v0.3.1  MW said...

    Search for techmerit ltd. or patrick j white of 177 valley drive, nw9 or talk to hosting uk.


  9. flag
    Paul Walsh  Paul Walsh said...

    @MW yeah and techmerit is just one of many!


  10. flag
    4Avatars v0.3.1 v0.3.1  Anon said...

    07970 997731


  11. flag
    4Avatars v0.3.1 v0.3.1  Bethany K Ford said...

    nice article! nice site. you're in my rss feed now ;-)
    keep it up


Join the Discussion

We're constantly spammed by people who have as much life as the robots they use. So, we hope you don't mind if we moderate your comment if it's your first time on this blog.

Close
E-mail It